The Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of India, has passed a bill that seeks to convert 11 of the 12 ports run by the government into ‘authorities’ from the current ‘trustee’ structure.

The new Major Port Authorities Bill, 2020, has already been passed by the lower house of the Indian Parliament last year. It will replace the Major Port Trusts Act of 1963.

The new law will help these ports to compete with private ports that have the freedom to set their own rates for market pricing of services.

It will provide greater autonomy and flexibility to the major ports, enabling them to make quick decisions.

Raising loans or additional capital from Indian and foreign lenders will also become easier for these ports.

Currently, the Tariff Authority for Major Ports (TAMP) sets the rates for services provided by the port trusts and the PPP operators.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The new regulation will apply to Visakhapatnam Port Trust, Chennai Port Trust, Cochin Port Trust, Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust, Deendayal Port Trust, New Mangalore Port Trust, Mormugao Port Trust, Paradip Port Trust, V.0.Chidambaranar Port Trust, Kolkata Port Trust, and Mumbai Port Trust.

These 11 ports are currently running as trusts under the Major Port Trusts Act 1963, reported The Hindu Business Line.

Chennai’s Kamarajar Port is the only exception as it was formed as a company in 2001.

Under the new law, an Adjudicatory Board will also be formed to keep an eye on the functions carried out by the TAMP.