Rolls-Royce’s latest generation of MTU Series 4000 marine engines have successfully completed International Maritime Organisation (IMO) Tier III certification tests.

These latest engine variants are equipped with selective catalytic reduction (SCR) systems.

The test was carried out using a 20-cylinder version of the engine. It was conducted by representatives of various classification societies, including the American Bureau of Shipping (ABS), Bureau Veritas (BV), DNVGL and Lloyd’s Register (LR).

It validated the engine’s ability to comply with the emission regulations in accordance with IMO MARPOL Annex VI, IMO Tier III.

The new MTU integrated system features a propulsion and SCR exhaust gas after-treatment system. The MTU SCR allows customers to switch between IMO II and IMO III modes during operation, meeting international emission requirements.

According to Rolls-Royce, its new MTU Series 4000 engines are equipped with an improved turbocharging system, a combustion process and injection system, as well as the new SCR system.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.
“The advancements have enabled the engine to reduce its nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions by 75%.”

The advancements have enabled the engine to reduce its nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions by 75% compared with the IMO II limit and particulate emissions by 65% compared with EPA Tier 3 limit.

For yachts and patrol boats, MTU engines are currently available in 12, 16 and 20-cylinder versions for a power range of 2,160kw to 3,900kw.

Istanbul-based Bilgin Yachts shipyard is currently manufacturing the first yacht that will feature an IMO Tier III propulsion system from MTU. The 80m-long megayacht is expected to be commissioned next year.

Rolls-Royce plans to gradually launch MTU engines complying with IMO Tier III and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Tier 4 emission regulations for workboats such as tugboats and ferries.

The engines will be available in 12, 16 and 20-cylinder versions covering a power range from 1,119kW to 3,220kW.